Prologue

 

            Alright, I should start with some explanation of why we’re in this fucking mess. The thing is, it’s such a long story and it’s still going on to this day, and I’m damn positive it will keep going on. My name is Ray Vantair. I'm the designated driver of this survivor group. We drive around in a van, specifically a green Ford E-150. How do I explain this without sounding insane? This van jumps dimensions.

            I'll try to explain the best of the beginning, even though it’s hard to look back at that time. It's been a decade since this apocalypse started. It just had to be the age-old zombie apocalypse huh. Except it ended up being at a larger scale than it should have been, like across dimensions. I remember when it hit Muskegon. It was a special form of Hell. There was this kid I ended up running into that had been abandoned by his parents. I ended up taking him under my wing. His name is Ryan Senoaks. He was twelve at the time. I taught him how to survive; how to fight. All that stuff.

            A few years later, whilst fleeing from a giant horde, we found this van. We acted fast and entered the van. I was amazed that it still ran when I turned it on. We tried to drive away from the scene and then witnessed something that we never thought would happen. Suddenly, everything started to change around us, and we found ourselves in a different world. We didn't understand what had happened at that point, but we jumped a dimension. Then we discovered in the said dimension that it was also under an apocalypse. Ever since then we've been trying to figure out how to stop this multi-dimensional apocalypse.

Jump ahead eight years later and you are now in the present time. Well, present time for us, or whatever present time it is in this dimension. I don't know where we're at. The Dimension Identifier says Dimension 152. We've been cruising along for probably an hour listening to the Incidental Radio station. That station follows us everywhere and I want to know why. The music that it plays sometimes fits too damn well with the situations we as a group find ourselves in.

Oh yeah, I should probably talk about the group. Besides Ryan, we have an eclectic group of members all from different dimensions. Some members come from the same dimension, while others come from a completely different dimension. The only person I know from my dimension in this group is Ryan. Speaking of which, it's so weird knowing that Ryan's twenty-two. Anyway, tangent aside, every member of this group has their own title if you will. I've already stated that I'm the designated driver. That doesn't mean I drive all the time. You got to earn the right to drive this van. I'm getting ahead of myself again. There's Misty Brooks. I call her the sharpshooter. There's Tristan Corvinter. He is the only non-human in our group currently. We did have some before, but they've either died or left the group, or in a certain case kicked out. He is the warrior type. There's also Svetlana Bogatyryova. (Good luck pronouncing that name if you’re not Slavic.) She is a Slavic soldier. You don't fuck with Svetlana. There is a trio of friends that come from the same dimension. Flotsam Senesha, (unfortunate name there,) Riley Sazurá, and Tori Lenetchra. Flotsam is the Adventurer. He has some trauma from his past. Riley is the scientist in this group. I'm so glad he's here because without him we would probably be fucked. Some of this shit makes no fucking sense to me. then Tori is what I like to call the hellbent medic. Since we had to kick out our original medic because of something she had done, Tori had to take the place. While she's not as good as the previous one, she suffices. We also have Brandon Friseal. He is the nature documentary narrator. He's also Australian if I’m correct. Either that or Scottish. That about wraps up everyone in the group.

Ryan gets called the basket case of the group, which is fair. There was a moment where he got into drugs, and we had to get him out of it. No matter what, I'll always protect him as if he was always my son. Still won't let you drive, Ryan.

 

Hello, I’m Ryan Senoaks. I like to say that I am Ray’s son, even though I am not. Fuck my parents; they abandoned me when I was twelve whilst it was an apocalypse. My parents were neglectful from the get-go. Sometimes it felt like I didn't even exist to them. I wasn't really allowed to go places except to family gatherings. They never really brought me anywhere fun. I essentially did not have a childhood. Ever since Ray found me, he has taken care of me. He was always the father I wanted.

Ever since I was fifteen, we have been on the road. For eight years we have lived in this van. It has a lot of strange properties. First off, it jumps dimensions, which is already strange itself. On top of that, it is almost like its own dimension inside. Basically, there's more stuff and more space inside of this vehicle than there should be. Somehow there are bedrooms, bathrooms, and, well, anything you would find inside a standard house. It's like an advanced motorhome. That's the best way I can explain it.

I am a hyperactive ball of energy. Sometimes I can get on the group's nerves. I usually don't mean to. My ADHD loves to act up, and well, how am I going to get medication to deal with that in an apocalypse? It doesn't help that I have a history of abusing drugs, which I did kick, by the way. But yes, the point is that I am very hyperactive.

One day I hope we will stop this apocalypse. It's not like it's been going on for ten years. Hell, because of the dimensional plane, it's probably been going on for longer. I've kind of lost track of time, but I know we've been on the road for eight years, roughly.

Anyway, we've been in this one dimension for like a day now, maybe two. It seems that we are stopping for the day. Man, I'm really bored right now.

 

Next Chapter

  • In Rocky Medias Res